First 5k Run in 6 years!


My last run was on the 27th of April.  Rested 4 days and ran on May 1st.  The temperature was perfect – about 55 degrees – for a long run.  Well, long is relative to the runner of course.  2 miles is the longest I had run this year.  About 3 or 4 times I’ve run 2 miles in 2012.  And 2 miles is also the longest I’ve run since before my honeymoon in late 2006.  I weighed under 200lbs back then (just for the honeymoon) and it was still very slow running.

I went out to the Hollywood Trail – by the theater – and left my water bottle in the SUV.  Because as sad as it sounds, running with anything heavier than my phone in my hand severely fatigues my shoulders by the end of even a 2-mile run.  And I had a goal of running 3 miles.  So I wanted everything to be stacked in my favor.  Even then I knew it was about 50-50 whether I’d make 3 miles or not. 

Turns out I actually ran 5k (3.1 miles) in the time that I had set as a goal pace.  12-minute mile average pace was my goal for the 5k.  I hit that goal with an average mile pace of 11 minutes 45 seconds. 

I ran the 5k in 36 minutes 25 seconds.  Super slow for most reading this blog.  I’m not even ashamed of it.  Will work my way eventually toward getting faster.  But for now I’m just working on covering the distance without stopping to walk.  I will still be doing some much shorter distances – like 1/4 mile and 1/2 mile runs.  But I’ll intersperse that with at least one 2-mile run per week, or that’s the goal. 

My fastest 5k was ran back in 1999.  25 minutes and 5 seconds.  I also weighed 150lbs.  So do the math.  Add 65lbs and 13 years older and that doesn’t make for a reasonable chance of improving on a 5k time.  Right now my fastest mile time isn’t even close to the average pace per mile I ran that 5k in back in 1999.  Humbling to say the least.  Of course the tradeoff is I’m stronger now – in many ways. 

I think this 5k run was the “tipping point” for me and my fitness quest.  If I failed on the 5k attempt it would’ve really made me question whether the training I’m doing was “working.”  I’m not new to health and fitness training.  I don’t expect linear progression at all times.  I am pretty patient when it comes to letting the training build up and show results.  But getting the run under my belt is really good for my willpower and it will help me continue running. 

I’m going to stop thinking about weight loss and focus more on just doing more.  More what?  More moving and staying busy.  Even if it’s as simple as working around the house. 

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Running/Jogging and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

