Whittling Down My Mile Time


I ran a timed mile yesterday after 10 hours of training and cut 19 seconds off my 2012 best time.  I mention 2012 because back in 1999 when I was around 150lbs I ran a heck of a lot faster mile time than I do at 220lbs.  Plus, I’m just plain not in the same type of shape.  I’m also a lot stronger.  So the tradeoff is what it is. 

Didn’t wear my lightweight “racing shoes” because I wasn’t expecting to dip below my last best mile time.  But as the run progressed I felt good and then just kept pushing the pace even though I soon was NOT feeling comfortable and by the end of the run I was about as miserable as I’ve ever been during a run.  

That’s not necessarily a BAD thing.  It gave me a real sense of pride that I stuck with it and never stopped running.  Even though it would’ve been more pleasant to fight a bear than to keep running when my lungs were seared. 

Time is irrelevant to this post.  If you are currently a runner – the mile time was very slow.  If you are not a runner – you might be able to duplicate my best mile time in a few months of training.  It’s really that slow.  But it’s improving slowly but surely over the 5 months of 2012.  And that’s the name of the game.  Progression. 

By the end of the year I expect to drop another full minute off my mile time.  Not only from improvements in cardio fitness, but mostly from dropping bodyweight for two particular contests.  One in August.  One in October.  And a wedding (not mine) in September in New York that I would like to be in better shape for so my wife and I can do a bunch of hiking without worrying about our fitness (or lack of) holding us back. 

 

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Running/Jogging and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

