Walking Gripper Ladders


You might be asking yourself what “Walking Gripper Ladders” means.  It’s pretty simple really.  Instead of “Breathing Ladders” – a walk of varying length is inserted between work periods.  And a gripper is closed on each lap or on whatever random event you choose. 

It combines three things I really enjoy. 

  • Kettlebell Swings

  • TNS Grippers

  • Walking

I have done this a few times after reading about Breathing Ladders last month.  Breathing Ladders – short version with kettlebell swings as the example exercise – involve doing some swings and then setting the kettlebell down and taking breaths in between more swing reps.  It might be 1 swing, set the bell down, then 1 breath.  2 swings.  Set the bell down.  2 breaths.  An on and on.  You can go ever upward.  Or up and then wave it down.  Ascending and descending ladders. 

I have a small house.  So the path I choose to walk in between swing sets isn’t very long.  Only about 60 meters.  Long enough to catch my breath after a set of swings.  Especially if I do multiple 60-meter laps around the house. 

The 1st workout I had a lot of time on my hands and wanted to see what 2 miles (about 54 laps) felt like with some swings thrown into the mix. 

It Felt Awesome! 

It is’t rocket science.  And I didn’t invent Breathing Ladders or Walking Ladders.  But I enjoyed that workout more than almost any other workout in my 22 years of resistance training. 

I varied the sets and reps in that first workout.  Used my 24kg Muscle Driver kettlebell and did only 2-Hand Swings for the duration of the workout.  I kept track of all the numbers but I had fun with it and varied the number of swings from 5 to 50 at the highest.  I think in the long run Walking Ladders would have a huge payoff in terms of increased cardio and strength-endurance.  The gripper I used for my TNS (left hand only) work was my rated 130lb #2.5.  Got about 20 TNS singles on it during the workout. 

I could’ve made the workout a lot harder than it was – it was actually quite pleasant – by increasing the number of swings and decreasing the number of laps that I walked between sets of swings.  But I’m still experimenting to find a combo that yields the gains I want in a minimal amount of time.  I’m well aware that will involve much harder work.  But I’m also willing to extend the time and make the effort easier as a tradeoff for a shorter workout that is more efficient – but harder. 

There are going to be a million ways to make this harder or easier.  Harder options are:

  • Use a Heavier Kettlebell.

  • Do 1-Hand Swings.

  • Load my Modular Plateau Buster Swing Handle up Heavier Than my Heaviest Kettlebell.

  • Do More Reps.

  • Do Less Laps to Keep the Heart Rate Higher.

  • Use a Harder Gripper.

Easier options are:

  • Use a Lighter Kettlebell.

  • Do 2-Hand Swings.

  • Do Less Reps.

  • Do More Laps to Let the Heart Rate Recover Between Sets of Swings.

  • Use an Easier Gripper.

You can also do a set with the gripper that is easier than a no set close.  Like a parallel set.  Or a 20mm Block Set.  Just a few that see a lot of action in grip contests. 

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Grip Strength, Grippers, Kettlebell, Walking Gripper Ladders, Walking Ladder and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

