Early Morning Mile Run


Got up and finished a mile run by 4am.  Normally I don’t run before work because I literally sweat for hours afterwards if I get too hot.  And any time I run I get too hot.  So I sweated for about 2 hours afterwards but luckily wasn’t too obscene by the time I got to work this morning.  I ate like crap yesterday for several reasons that I’m not going to elaborate on here.  The results of that crappy eating were that I felt terrible during the run.  I nose-breathed the entire time and even a very slow pace was enough to make me think about gulping air for the entire run.  But I didn’t.  I kept my mouth shut and breathed through my nose like I had planned to do. 

I think these runs – where they feel terrible, but I push through it and finish them even if it’s slow – are doing more for me than my time trials.  It seems like I have a cruddy run every time after a time trial.  Which isn’t surprising.  And then my next run is usually a really good one – but not a time trial. 

Got 3 runs in this week and I’m pleased with that.  Even if two of them were just 1 mile.  The longer run was 2 miles and I think that when my weight gets much lower later this year that 2 miles might be the average run distance. 

Weight was 219lbs this morning.  Not going to jinx myself by saying what my weight goals are for the future.  Simply put – to be lighter.  And only I know how much lighter.  I’ll either put up or shut up.  And I’m shutting up.  So putting up is the only thing on the table apparently. 

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Running/Jogging and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

