Another Year Older – 37 – and a New 2012 Best Mile Time


About 2 weeks ago I cut 19 seconds off my 2012 best mile time.  Today I cut another 22 seconds off that previous 2012 best mile time.  Wore my lightweight New Balance racing shoes. 

Paced myself very well during the entire run.  Partly because I ran it on a track.  But mostly because I kept a tight watch on my stopwatch during the run. 

Start off too fast and I just peter out at the end and the time isn’t even close to my best.  Start off too slow and I have to really push at the end and it’s a struggle with no way of knowing if I’m even close to beating my previous mile time.   

Can tell that I’m slowly getting in better shape though because I didn’t have to start convincing myself to keep running until about the 3rd lap this time.  Usually on a  time trial mile it’s literally the first lap that I have to start actively telling myself to keep it up.

My weight is exactly 2lbs less than 2 weeks ago when I ran my last mile time trial.  I will keep a chart of best mile times at “milestone weights” because it should be interesting to see the drop in times as my bodyweight goes down too.  It won’t be due solely to bodyweight decreases but I think that will factor heavily – pun intended – into the times getting faster.

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Running/Jogging, Time Trial Run and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

