Ran my 3rd 5K of 2012 This Morning


It wasn’t a time PR.  But this morning’s run was a PR in another way for me.  It was the longest nose-breathing run I’ve ever done.  Before today’s 5K the longest I had ran while only breathing through my nose was 2 miles.  I ran a bit slower – aimed for 12 minutes per mile – and the majority of the run was pretty pleasant.  That’s a change from how the runs have felt since I started running again in April. 

I’m learning to control my breathing better.  To conserve energy better.  To battle the effects of having my heart rate go up and down due to variations in running surface and elevation. 

My speed over longer distances than a mile is improving much slower than the shorter distances.  But I don’t care.  I have now ran three 5Ks this year.  My goal was only to run one this year.  And that I thought was going to take 3 or 4 months.  Not have 3 in the books 10 weeks into my running re-start. 

Did this morning’s 5K in 36 minutes and 6 seconds.  Average pace per mile was 11 minutes 39 seconds per mile.  Right on target.  12 minutes per mile is a pace that is pretty comfortable for me.  I’d of course rather it be faster pace – but if I’m enjoying the run then it’s all good. 

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Running/Jogging and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

