1-Mile Time Trial: 6 Seconds Faster


Ran early this morning and things went well.  I should’ve worn my lightweight racing shoes but I wasn’t actually starting the day thinking that I would shoot for a new mile time. 

Ran on the street and trail.  Bodyweight was 215lbs on the dot this morning. 

8 minutes and 38 seconds.  2012 best mile time by 6 seconds.  The last mile time trial was about 3 weeks ago.  I was 3lbs heavier and it was done on the track.  So, if I had ran on the track today – with my lightweight racing shoes – it would’ve no doubt been a bit faster.  Maybe 10 seconds or more. 

I’m not setting the road on fire with my performances.  But man my lungs burned at the end of the run today!  Felt good afterwards.  And I didn’t feel like eating crappy food for a few hours after that.  I’m fighting the urge to eat cruddy since it will only keep me treading water time-wise on my runs. 

Next schedule mile time trial will be when my bodyweight hits 210lbs.  I want to do it every 5lbs I drop in bodyweight and then chart the results. 

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Running/Jogging, Time Trial Run and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

