Rolling Thunder 6-17-12


Did some Rolling Thunder work yesterday while doing a bit of maintenance on my vehicles.  The air compressor is in the garage and so is my workout equipment.  Match made in heaven.

Skipped the warmup since I just don’t need one these days.  I can pull 200lbs with or without a warmup.  So I figure I might as well skip the grip foreplay and get right down to business.

ROLLING THUNDER

-188×1-both hands     *Notes: Rested about 30 seconds and then…

-188×1-both hands     *Notes: Rested about 30 seconds again – and then…

-188×1-both hands     *Notes: I did some work after this last set and came back to the Rolling Thunder about 5 minutes later.

-188×2-both hands     *Notes: Just some touch and go reps.  Could’ve done a few more with both hands but didn’t care to test it.  Just wanted to get a little work in today.

-188×2-both hands     *Notes: Got 2 reps with both hands again but this time I might’ve only been able to get one more rep if I had really tried.

-188×1-both hands     *Notes: Just getting a little more volume in.

-188×1-both hands     *Notes: Seems like I could’ve pulled this weight all day long.

-188×1-both hands     *Notes: Maybe I’ll be sore tomorrow even though the volume wasn’t high.

*Overall Notes: Sometimes Rolling Thunder gives me a soreness deep in the forearm muscle belly.  I like it when it does that.  Doesn’t happen all the time.  Seems to be more on the days when I pull closer to my max vs. lower weight for more reps. 

Today my forearms aren’t sore at all.  But my hands themselves are slightly sore like I’ve done a heavy gripper workout.  This feeling has never happened to me after a moderate Rolling Thunder workout.  Actually, even though 220lbs is my max with both hands currently – my “training max” or “everyday max” is much closer to 200lbs.  As in – 200lbs.  So pulling 188 isn’t necessarily just messing around in other words.

I remember 7 years ago when my max was 180lbs on the Rolling Thunder.  That was with my right hand.  Lefty was 170lbs.  And that was not a training max.  That was a one-time deal at that point.  I think I was good for 160lbs most of the time lefty and 170lbs righty.  It’s nice to be pulling more weight – with no warmup – for reps – with ease.  I like it.  Admittedly 7 years is a long time to only go up 40lbs but it sure hasn’t been an uninterrupted amount of time spent training the Rolling Thunder during those years. 

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Grip Strength, Rolling Thunder and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rolling Thunder 6-17-12

  1. Jason says:

    Great work and progress Ben! I notice the same soreness with any max thick bar. Nothing else seems to hit me like that.

    Like

    • bencrush says:

      I know what you mean on the axle! Now THAT used to hit my deep forearm flexors pretty hard when I was well over 350lbs. For some reason I never noticed that soreness until I was over the 350lb mark.

      Like

Leave a Reply

