1K Time Trial on 6-28-12


Ran 1K in 5 minutes and 14 seconds.

Had a bit of the “jelly legs” going on from some goblet squats I did two days before.  The DOMS was just starting to really kick in and it made things pretty rough for me.  I’m a terrible, out of shape runner too – so that’s my biggest excuse why it was so slow.

5 minutes and 14 seconds is about 8 minutes and 25 seconds per mile pace.  Of course I wouldn’t have been able to keep that pace up for the rest of the mile so it’s a moot point. 

Wore my lightweight racing shoes and still struggled on the last half of the run. 

I’m trying out different distances to keep things interesting right now.  Bodyweight was 210lbs before the run.  Should drop slightly under 210lbs this next week and if that downward trend continues I’ll enter a USAWA Record Day in mid-July in a lighter bodyweight class than I’ve ever competed in.  Only one bodyweight class down – but it’s a good thing. 

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Running/Jogging, Time Trial Run and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

