Slow 2-Mile Run on 7-2-12


Time breakdown was:

  • 1st mile: 11 minutes and 14 seconds

  • 2nd mile: 11 minutes and 31 seconds

  • Average mile pace was 11 minutes and 23 seconds. 

  • Total time was 22 minutes and 45 seconds. 

Wore my non-racing New Balance.  Nose-breathed the entire run – which has become the standard way of running for me – most of the time at least. 

Didn’t have any set running plans/goals when I set out this morning.  It was already 83 degrees at 9am so I knew it probably wouldn’t be longer than 2 miles.  My heart certainly beats harder even when it’s in the lower 80s vs. the 50s and 60s that I prefer when running any distance. 

The only parameter I set for myself was that I wouldn’t run slower than 12-minute miles. 

Next time I go out to run – I have it in my head to do 1K repeats at slightly faster than 11-minute mile pace and see if it has carryover to actually stringing together 5 of them (Kilometers) and scoring a time PR. 

It was good for me to run 2 miles the day after running a 5K.  Usually I wait at least 2 days between runs that are “long” for me.  Since 5K is the longest I’ve run this year – it’s definitely a long run for me currently. 

Today’s 2-mile run was pretty comfortable.  I didn’t push the pace on the return trip and it showed with a slower 2nd mile strip – mainly due to the slight uphill finish that I have mentioned before.   

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Running/Jogging and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

