Running Performances vs. Bodyweight – Update at Sub-210lbs


On June 1st I wrote a blog post about running performances vs. bodyweight.  My bodyweight is trending downwards.  A bit slower than I would like.  But it’s headed in the right direction.  My running performances are improving from just plain running.  But they’re also improving slightly from losing a small amount of bodyweight over time. 

On June 1st I weighed 215lbs.  Yesterday (July 11th) after my run I weighed 208lbs.  So a loss of 7lbs.  I am starting to be able to feel the difference in less extra “ME” jiggling around when I run.  Whether it’s short distance or long distance. 

I’m going to repost my 215lbs-220lbs bests of this year with any improvements at the slightly lower bodyweight for reference.

 

 

***215lbs-220lbs Bodyweight*** 

 

  • 1/4 MILE: 92 Seconds     *Notes: May 7th.  Bodyweight was 219lbs.

  • 1 MILE: 8 Minutes 38 Seconds     *Notes: Updated this to show a 6-second improvement – but at the same bodyweight – done a few weeks after this initial running performance vs. bodyweight post.  Time Trial 1 Mile was done on June 17th.  Bodyweight was 215lbs. 

  • 2 MILES: 20 Minutes 43 Seconds     *Notes: June 12th.  Bodyweight was 216lbs. 

  • 5K: 35 Minutes 35 Seconds.  June 1st.  Bodyweight was 215lbs.

  • Haven’t Run Farther Than 5K This Year At Heavier Than 209lbs.

 

***Sub-212lbs Bodyweight***

 

  • 1/4 MILE: 84 Seconds     *Notes: July 11th.  Bodyweight was 208lbs.

  • 1K: 5 Minutes 14 Seconds     *Notes: This isn’t a distance that I ran for a time trial before June 28th so it will be included in all future comparisons. 

  • 1 MILE: NO 2012 TIME TRIAL RESULT AT SUB-212lbs    *Notes: Haven’t tested it lately but I think it will be improved around 10 seconds when my weight hits 205lbs. 

  • 2 MILES: NO 2012 TIME TRIAL RESULT AT SUB-212lbs

  • 3 MILES: 33 Minutes 30 Seconds     *Notes: June 24th.  Bodyweight was 211lbs.  If I had just ran another .1 miles I would’ve beaten my 2012 5K time.  Oh well.  I ran out of gas and was overheated. 

  • 5K: NO 2012 TIME TRIAL RESULT AT SUB-212lbs     *Notes: Ran once at sub-210lbs but it wasn’t a time trial.  Should be significantly faster when I try it next. 

  • *Notes: This is where my 215lbs-220lbs list ended.  I hadn’t run farther than 5K up until July 5th.  Chalk that up to a perk of slightly lower bodyweight too.

  • 6K: 43 Minutes 11 Seconds     *Notes: July 5th.  First time running 6K in 2012.  Bodyweight was 209lbs. 

  • 4 MILES: 47 Minutes 12 Seconds     *Notes: July 8th.  Bodyweight was 209lbs. 

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Running Performances vs. Bodyweight, Running/Jogging and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

