Time Trial 1/4 Mile Comparison – 219lbs bodyweight vs. 208lbs bodyweight


Went to the track yesterday and warmed up thoroughly.  Compared to the 4-mile run I did the other day where I felt miserable.  Well, I still felt terrible after the run.  The 1/4 mile runs always do that to me.  Much worse than the longer runs.  Guess it’s the lactic acid buildup. 

Improved my time by 8 seconds from 2 months ago.  I’m also down 11lbs from that other time trial so that makes a big difference I’m sure.  Pretty slow.  No surprise.  And no excuses.  Need to work harder.  I’m actually enjoying testing myself a bit here and there. 

When I woke up yesterday I didn’t have the run distance planned.  I felt more like running a slow mile or maybe 2 miles.  But the temperature was very nice – 68 degrees – so I seized the day and went to the track. 

Walked 1/4 mile to get ready for the first lap.  After stretching and doing some controlled ballistic leg swings.  Took my time on the stretching because I knew it would be my luck to pull a hammy running one of the slowest 1/4 mile times ever claimed. 

Here are the comparisons by bodyweight.

  • 1/4 MILE: 92 Seconds     *Notes: May 7th.  Bodyweight was 219lbs.

  

  • 1/4 MILE: 84 Seconds     *Notes: July 11th.  Bodyweight was 208lbs.

 I’m almost surprised there wasn’t more difference between the two times.  I felt like I was going as fast as my body would allow me to go yesterday.  I was stumbling slightly and felt like at any second I would fall flat on my face.  I have the utmost respect for people running world record times in the 1/4 mile. 

I tried to break my 1/4 mile 2012 best recently and failed by a second or two.  Don’t remember offhand.  This run made up for that.  Wore my racing shoes and listened to Rammstein. 

If I can restrain myself long enough to get down to sub-200lbs I’d like to run another 1/4 mile time trial and see what the difference is compared to now. 

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Running Performances vs. Bodyweight, Running/Jogging and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Time Trial 1/4 Mile Comparison – 219lbs bodyweight vs. 208lbs bodyweight

  1. chuck says:

    nice job…the quarter is a grueling run.

    Like

Leave a Reply

