Pullups and 400-Meter Time Trial


August 6th, Monday

Did some pullups.  Bodyweight was 205lbs. 

Inspired by some of the running I watched during the Olympic coverage – I drove out to the track and warmed up for a 400-meter time trial.  Walked 1,600 meters for a warmup.  Then walked 400 meters after the time trial to cooldown.

Beat my 2012 best 400-Meter time by 4 seconds.  Not by a lot, but I knew that the seconds I was able to cut off were going to peter out soon. 

Wore my lightweight New Balance racing shoes.  Felt pretty warmed up from the 1,600 meter walk.  Also did a bunch of static and ballistic leg stretches. 

Elapsed time was 80.13 seconds. 

In the process of setting that new 400-meter best of 2012, I also set baseline numbers for the 200-meter and 300-meter runs that I will undoubtedly be doing a lot of the rest of the year. 

Each 100-meter section was exactly 20 seconds.  Didn’t plan it that way but that’s the way it worked out in that time trial.  I was breathing hard for about 5 minutes after I finished.  So I have a lot of work to do.  

Printed off some 400-meter training info and have already put it to good use. 

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Pullups/Chinups, Running/Jogging, Time Trial Run and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

