Friday’s Running


8-24-12, Friday

Drove out to the track again to get in my running quota for the week.  Turned out that I stopped short and don’t feel bad about it in the least.  Thought I’d end up running again on Saturday but instead I went on a last-minute trip to see family in western Kansas. 

I warmed up by walking about 400 meters.  Stretched both before and after walking.  Sciatica was not actively acting up…but it was there – under the surface.  Anyone that suffers from it will know what I mean.  If you don’t, it doesn’t matter.  Skip this part.  It is definitely preventing me from sprinting as hard as I can.  Not a big deal as long as I give it enough effort to feel like I’m working – without snapping a hammy in the process.

  • Ran 100 Meters in 17.93 seconds.  *Notes: This hurt.  I pulled up big time or it would’ve been under 15 seconds.  Felt like I pushed my hammy to the limit.  Or as close as I wanted to get without really testing it to the limit. 
  • Rested 10 minutes.
  • Ran 400 Meters in 1:37:27.  *Notes: Almost as hard as I could run it with my sciatica issues.  This is only 17 seconds slower than my 2012 best time.  Not disappointed with this time in other words.  Wasn’t trying for a new best either.  Just wanted to get a hard run in. 
  • Rested 5 minutes.  *Notes: Walked about 400 meters as active rest.
  • Walked 400 meters in 3:38:61.  *Notes: I am a slob.  Because this pace actually tested my calves.  Not my lungs or my legs.  Just my puny little calves.  2012 baseline for walking 400 meters.

Bodyweight was 209lbs. 

 

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Fitness Walking, Running/Jogging, Speed Walking, Walking Time Trial and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

