DAY 5: 30-Day Ultra Low Volume Running Experiment


8-31-12, Friday

It’s not good that I didn’t even hit my 1,600 meter limit in the first week of this 30-day ultra low volume running experiment.  After this 400 meter run I just didn’t feel like running again.  Thought I might after a few hours of rest and yard work.  But I didn’t.  So I didn’t push it. 

Warmed up with some static stretching.  Then walked about 500 meters to warmup. 

 I wore my racing New Balance so that I could give my 2012 best 400 meter time a run.  In the end I didn’t beat it but I feel like it was a worthwhile run anyway.   

  • Ran 400 Meters in 01:26:67. 

*Overall Notes: I got hit by the lactic acid train around 250 meters and never recovered.  This is less than 7 seconds slower than my 2012 best 400 meter time but it felt 20 seconds slower. 

Ran a total of 400 meters today.  This 400 meter run was 5:48 mile pace. 

Total meters this week: 1,000.  Because I doubt I’m going to run today after work.  And my week starts on Sunday. 

Walked about 500 meters to cooldown. 

Felt the sciatica warning and was aware of it shutting down my ability to pick up more speed than what I managed. 

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Running Experiments, Running/Jogging and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

