GTG Dips – Taking The Advice Of A Fit Coworker


Grease The Groove Dips. 

Basically, it’s just doing sets throughout the day.  Submaximal sets.  No straining.  Letting volume and practice do the work for me. 

Starting on September 28th I began doing 4 sets of dips – at half the reps of my current best single set – throughout the day.  Doesn’t matter if I do the sets a few minutes apart or a few hours apart.  As long as I get 4 sets of half the max reps in that day.  I quit there.  Don’t do more sets even though I could do a lot more.  Even with my trick shoulder these are pretty tolerable for low reps. 

I did that on September 28th, 29th, 30th, and October 1st.  Rested last night even though it would’ve been doable for my shoulder.  By the third day it was getting easier to do half-max rep sets.  Not that these were super hard to begin with.  But the shoulder always makes it necessary for me to concentrate pretty hard to keep everything “tight” while I do a dip.  It makes for a lot harder movement since essentially “the brakes” are on as I’m trying to move. 

What I think I’ll do is a 4-day on, 2-day off split with the GTG Dips.  So I’ll dip for 4 days in a row and then take 2 days off.  That should give the shoulders enough time to recover from the submaximal work.  But it should be enough volume still to effect an increase in my max reps. 

Will test around the 4 week mark and see what all the 50% sets add up to in terms of a new max reps test. 

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Dips and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

