The Breakdown: 30-Day Ultra Low Volume Running Experiment


The Breakdown

30-Day Ultra Low Volume Running Experiment Final Notes

Total Distance In 30 Days?

  • Approximately 7,830 meters total.  This is approximately 4.9 miles total.  For the entire month. 

Average Distance Per Week?

  • Approximately 980 meters per week.  Not even a kilometer on average – per week.  Admittedly, my running fitness is pretty unremarkable.  But maintaining it on an average of 1K per week vs. the at least 5K that I was averaging for a few months before this 30-day ultra low volume running experiment.

Average Frequency Per Week?

  • Not quite 2 per week.  Pretty cool.

How Many Times Did I Run?

  • 7 times in 30 days. 

  • That is approximately one run followed by 2 days off – repeated throughout the month. 

What Were The Extremes?

  • Out of the 7 days of running – the shortest total distance I ran during a workout was 400 meters.  I ran that short twice actually. 

  • The longest total distance was 1.5 miles. 

Final Judgment?

  • This 30 day running experiment was a great success overall.  I lost very little 400-meter running fitness and actually improved my time in the 1.5-mile run. 

  • If you try this running experiment please let me know how you do.  I’m always interested to see how others fare with my experiments. 

  • I had planned on averaging 1,600 meters (essentially a mile, just 12 meters short) for each week but I fell short of that.  I’d say it’s still a success even with the reduced mileage.

 

 

 

 

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Running Experiments, Running Performances vs. Bodyweight, Running/Jogging, Time Trial Run and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

