3 Weeks Until My Next USAWA Competition


Well, it’s about 21 days until the 2013 Dino Gym Challenge at Al Myers’s Dino Gym in Abilene, Kansas.  I haven’t done a contest – any contest, not just USAWA – since July. 

Looking forward to seeing all my USAWA pals.  One of them – Dan Wagman – I haven’t seen in 10 years. 

It’s always a blast touring the Dino Gym before (sometimes during) and after the comps too.  There is so much strength and physical culture history on the walls. 

This will be the first time that I’ve visited the Dino Gym since giving up my grip addiction cold turkey.  I haven’t had any “relapses” – where I’ve felt the urge to train my grip.  There is still hope for the hopelessly grip-addicted trainees that remain out in the world. 

I had a terminal case of GOPD for about 12 years.  4 months “clean and sober” later and I am indifferent to grip training and anyone who is afflicted by the desire (like I once was) to train their grip at the expense of basic weight training exercises and protocols.  I still turn away at least a dozen requests for online or telephone training grip assistance every week.  The number of requests is steadily declining since word is getting out that I am no longer interested in grip. 

I mention grip because it was the highlight of my visits to the Dino Gym in the past.  I would mess with the old Ironmind and Tetting grippers.  Put some weight on the Rolling Thunder.  Hoist a blob or two.  Do some 2″ vertical bar pulls.  And then do it all again.  Then find other grip feats to attempt and keep at it for as long as my hands were able to form into fists. 

This visit I’m most looking forward to the kettlebells.  That is a big change.  But since I’ve spent a lot more time this year training with them I want to test myself a bit and see what the heavier kettlebells feel like this time around. 

My wife is coming with me and that’s a very nice surprise.  She is an accomplished photographer and the obvious plus is that I quite enjoy her company.  My brother Joe and cousin Kenny might be in attendance also and that would be fantastic. 

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Beating Grip Addiction, USAWA, USAWA contest, USAWA Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

