Finally on the rebound from the flu


Deadlifting a light replica of Apollon's Wheels at the Dino Gym last Saturday.

Deadlifting a light replica of Apollon’s Wheels at the Dino Gym last Saturday.


A week ago I did the strongman meet at the Dino Gym. Tweaked my back a bit during my “warmup” that consisted of at least half a dozen things I shouldn’t have been lifting as a warmup. No biggie. Still had a great time although my weights suffered drastically.

Part of my warmup was power cleaning the light replica of the Apollon’s Wheels. Not sure how much they weigh but my back did not appreciate it as a warmup. Nor did it like the 300lb one-hand deadlift I did lefty and righty on the Power Stairs implement. Even less – the 350lb one-hand deadlift (left and right) I did about 10 minutes later. Forgot to put my belt on and that usually makes me feel more solid on one hand deadlifts. I kept telling myself NOT to attempt the 400lb power stairs implement…but that only lasted another 10-15 minutes before I just gave in and walked into the empty room where they were kept and pulled it up righty. I didn’t even try lefty because my back was officially on alert that something could go wrong with it. Not a smart move on my part because tweaking my back during warmups is a bit special.

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Axle, Dino Gym, USAWA, USAWA contest and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

