Experienced my first “real” trail run on Friday


It was a training run. But it was a doozy. One simple mile. Done at my sister-and-brother-in-law’s house near Maize, KS. I ran it with my nephew, Isaac. He is 13 years old. And I am regaining some fat that I lost over the course of several months. Not good. So the day after Thanksgiving I decided to get back on the running wagon by testing the dirt trail that Tim finished “creating” over the past few months.

Ran it at a conversational pace. I abhor talking during even the slowest runs. But, since I was a guest at their house, the least I could do was keep up a friendly banter while we went on a leisurely jog. Since I dislike it so much, talking during a run is probably a very good training stimulus. Yeah, I get it.

The path started in the trees and then meanders its way along the periphery of a farmer’s field.  At the beginning, the path was hard-packed dirt and the occasional “anchored” root sticking up at toe-level along the path.  I tripped a few times, but didn’t fall.  We had ran about 1/2 mile and the surface switched to long tramped-down grass.  I don’t think it was actually “grass.”  But that’s the best description I can come up with.  The final 1/4 mile was nasty.  An ankle-breaker.  At least a half dozen times I thought – “Wow!  That could’ve been the pothole that broke my ankle…”  I managed to avoid breaking my ankle and kind of leapfrogged my way through the muddy potholes. 

When RunKeeper informed me I had gone 1.0 miles, I stopped and began walking back to the homestead with Isaac.  I think he was okay with walking too, which made me feel slightly better about having to quit at a measly one mile. 

The time was much slower than what I’m used to running on the concrete trail near my house.  I expected that.  Not a surprise at all.  The only thing that surprised me was the extent of how much harder it felt than my usual runs.  In terms of Rating of Perceived Exertion (RPE), it felt about the same as running 2 minutes per mile faster on a flat concrete trail. 

I’ve been researching the Lawrence TrailHawks.  The next time I get some freetime and feel like running somewhere new, I’ll check out the trails at Clinton Lake State Park and near the levee.

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Running/Jogging, Trail Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

