What’s The Plan For 2014?


Some things I don’t talk about on my blog.  Work is one of those.  So my work goals and what happens there are private.  Most everything else is an open book though. 

I’ll do sort of a Q&A format on this post.  I get lots of questions from coworkers, friends, family, and acquaintances (online) about my contest goals and plans. 

“Are you competing in any contests this year?”

Yes, I plan on doing one contest.  It is a grip contest in Springfield, Missouri on April 5th.  It’ll be three days after my daughter turns 1 year old. 

The guys putting it on are armwrestlers that my buddy Josh Dale knows.  Or at least one of the guys is someone Josh knows. 

The events are a mixture of standard and unique – like the two water bottle farmer’s walk.  It is a farmer’s walk gripping a 5-gallon water bottle in each hand by the neck.   

“Are you competing in the USAWA Grip Champs this year?” 

No.  In my opinion, the events are not as grip-centric as they could be for something titled the Grip Championships.

“What are your strength, fitness, and health goals?” 

These are hard to pin down exactly.  Notice I listed strength first?  That’s because it actually is the least “important” thing to me this year.  Health is the most important.  Regardless of strength development, maintenance, or loss.  I want to be healthy enough to enjoy my daughter through all her developmental milestones.  For as long as my body will have me. 

Fitness ties in to something possibly work-related, so for now, I’m not going to elaborate on it. 

To be continued…

 

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Grip Contest, Updates and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

