Next Contest – 2015 USAWA Grip Championships


It’s 72 days until the 2015 USAWA Grip Championships.  This contest will be held in Abilene, KS at the magnificent Dino Gym.  I decided to compete a few days ago.

If anyone is interested in how I’m training for this contest – or even IF I’m training for it – let me know in the comments section on this post.

http://days.to/14-february/2015

My bodyweight last night was 230lbs on the dot.  I have competed in the 220lb class in the USAWA for every contest since 2002, except for one in 2012 where I was in the 209lb class, and one in 2006 where I was in the 231lb class.

My bodyweight goal is to compete in the 209lb class in the Grip Champs.  198lb class would be even better, but I don’t think it’s realistic right now.  I’m stressed about work and that isn’t helping my strength or my stress eating.

Here are the details of the 2015 Grip Champs:

http://www.usawa.com/grip-championships-7/

I haven’t made any specific event poundage goals because I haven’t been training grip the past few months.  And I don’t know what weight class I will end up in yet.

This will be the first USAWA contest I’ve competed in since the birth of my daughter Josephine in April of 2013.  I’m looking forward to seeing old friends and maybe making a few new ones at the contest.

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Grip Strength, USAWA contest and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

