USAWA Record Day Results – “Sir Lance-A-Lot’s Record Day”


I had a good time Saturday at Eric Todd’s training facility near Turney, Missouri.  He hosted a USAWA Record Day that he titled “Sir Lance-A-Lot’s Record Day.”  Lance Foster was turning 50 years old.

Lance Foster, Dean Ross, and Eric Todd took part in the Record Day record setting.

I weighed 241lbs fully clothed.  Knew I wasn’t going to make the 105kg class cutoff, so I didn’t sweat it.  No pun intended.  First time I’ve been in the 110kg class, and hopefully it’s the last.

My hands (especially left hand, which had the severely dislocated pinky) are still not at 100%.  So I didn’t expect any spectacular results on the 2″ vertical bar.  I was not disappointed, lol.

The 110kg class record (left hand) for 2″ vertical bar was 200lbs.  So I upped it to 205.  1st attempt was 202lbs.  Good lift.  2nd attempt was 205lbs.  Another good lift.  I think I tried 210lbs (or maybe 215lbs), but I couldn’t hold it at lockout.  Missed the call by 1/2 second.  The photo below was my last warmup pull (@ 198lbs) before calling for my 1st attempt to be judged.  Eric judged my 2″ vertical bar attempts.

wpid-img_20151121_110014.jpg

The bar looks pretty “grippy” – but it was actually on the slick end of the spectrum as far as 2″ vertical bars go.

I didn’t do any official pulls righty, but it was actually feeling pretty strong.  I felt confident about breaking the right hand record of 215lbs, but decided to leave some in the tank for whatever other records I was going to attempt to break.  Turns out that I ran out of time and had to drive back (2-hour drive back to Lawrence) about 30 minutes later.  No biggie.

Next up for me was Thor’s Hammer.  I had never done this event before.  I tried it a week before, but completely screwed it up and ended up tossing the vertical bar behind me into the garden.  No lift, lol.

1st attempt in the Record Day was 25lbs.  Easy as pie.  2nd attempt was 35lbs.  Another super easy lift.  Then I got greedy and decided that I’d go to 55lbs.  The all-time record so far is only 52lbs.  “Only” – 55lbs was way too much.  I don’t think I was really close on either attempt at that weight.  The grip strength was there, but the wrist strength was not.

I will put up more pictures of Eric’s training area at a later date.  It was super impressive!  There was more equipment in that area than most people will have access to in an entire lifetime.  I could’ve got myself in a lot of trouble there if I had 3 or 4 hours to spare.  Trouble meaning just doing a lot of lifting or trying to lift everything that wasn’t nailed down.

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in 2" vbar, Grip Strength, Thor's Hammer, Uncategorized, USAWA Record Day and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to USAWA Record Day Results – “Sir Lance-A-Lot’s Record Day”

  1. rebelwithakettlebell says:

    Looks like you’re healing at a strong pace and had some fun!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

