Running Magazines’ “Beginners” Workouts Are Often Terrible For Beginners


I was standing around in Hy-Vee the other day, waiting on my prescription to be filled.  So, as I usually do when I’m alone in that store, I journeyed over to the magazine rack.  I skip the bodybuilding magazines.  Used to look at those about a decade ago.  Several years ago I felt like I was maturing when I started to be more interested in the Men’s Health-type magazine vs. the bodybuilding or powerlifting magazines.

A concealed carry magazine caught my eye.  And I spent a few minutes daydreaming over several of the handguns.

But the past year I’ve been interested in the running magazines.  Trail running.  Road racing.  It doesn’t matter what it is.  I enjoy leafing through them.  And I occasionally even buy one.

What stops me from buying one every month?

The so-called “beginning runner” programs.  They are often horrible.  And not at all suited for a beginner to running.  Or more specifically, they are not well suited to a heavyset out-of-shape beginner who is starting to add running into their fitness regimen.

A typical “workout” for a beginner in one of the running magazines I browsed said to “warm up with a 2 mile jog.”  Really?

I have an idea.  I’ll write a “beginner’s grip training program for runners.”  Ready?  Okay, first off, close the IronMind #2 gripper 10 reps with your left hand.  Rest about 20 seconds.  Now close it 10 reps with your right hand.  Don’t use a set.  A set means using the other (non-gripping) hand to pull or push the handles closer together to get a more advantageous (leverage-wise) position in the hand.

But wait.  You’re not able to do the beginner’s grip training workout?  Oh, that’s a problem.  Scaling workouts to the user is a pretty standard practice in the strength world.  It is in the running world, too.  But I really don’t get some of these magazines giving out beginner’s warm up advice that is not appropriate at all.  Even if it said “walk 2 miles” – that would make a lot more sense.  These programs with unattainable warm ups for beginners are hurtful to the beginners who either give it a shot and fail, or don’t even try because they know they’ll fail.

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Grip Strength, Running/Jogging, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

