Tiny Overlord Celebrates 4th Birthday With Over Bodyweight Deadlift


Josephine told me she wanted to lift something “very heavy” the day after her birthday.  I asked her how heavy she wanted to go.  Her go-to answer the past few months has been kind of a gibberish number – (“15-17-800”) – so I just picked something a bit heavier than she has lifted in good form and that turned out to be a good guess.

She also surprised me by lifting the warmup weight by the ring instead of waiting for me to attach the triangle handle I use for highland games WFD training.

Her bodyweight was 31 pounds the day she did these lifts.  I got the 34 pound deadlift on video, but my phone is being a shit and not letting me upload it to YouTube.

She loves lifting weights.  I had to stop her from attempting a lot more weight.  I put the bricks on either side of the weight plates to give her a longer range of motion to pull so that the weight would clear the sidewalk.

I am very proud of her and hope that by the time she turns 5 she will start deadlifting on a standard bar or even an Olympic bar for partial lifts.

She told me the other day that she wants to learn how to “bimp press.”  Which I assume means bench press.  And that makes me happy!

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Josephine, Tiny Overlord Strength Training, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tiny Overlord Celebrates 4th Birthday With Over Bodyweight Deadlift

  1. CJ says:

    This is awesome, man! Good luck to her and her future of bimp pressing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

